A Challenge of Challenges

This week is a special week for me, and this will be a special challenge.  It’s going to be the last one until I get back from Vegas.

I challenge you to challenge yourself.

Want to know why I go to Las Vegas every year to the Las Vegas Bellydance Intensive?  Simple: I want to be a better dancer.  I want to stretch my horizons, learn from new teachers, and be challenged.  I don’t want a pat on the head, a cookie, and someone to tell me what a good little dancer I am.  That gets me nowhere.  The workshops I remember the most fondly are the ones I walked out of frustrated and close to tears.  Why?  Because it gave me something to work on all year.  At my first Intensive, I took Aubre’s layering workshop and nearly quit right then and there.  I thought I’d never get it right.  But then I realized that I had to get it, that I had been challenged, and that I would do it even if it killed me (not literally, but you know what I mean).  By the second Intensive, I could layer, and when I took my next layering workshop, I didn’t feel like such a uncoordinated loser.  I had grown.  And every year, I grow more.  There are things I can do now that are easy–because I worked on them–that two years ago I never even dreamed I could possibly do.

Over the past five months or so, I have given you a lot of tools and challenges.  Maybe you have done them, maybe you have not.  This week, I challenge you to challenge yourself.  If you haven’t yet actually tried one of my challenges, do it.  If you don’t do it NOW, you never will.  If you’ve been consistently doing the challenges, fantastic!  But don’t stop there.  Take a workshop with someone you’ve never heard of before, or take a class from a teacher that scares you a little, or practice that move that you just absolutely CANNOT do.

Dance is one of those wonderful things, like many things in life, in which you never stop growing.  There is always more to learn, more to practice, more to perfect.  No one EVER “arrives” in dance.  There isn’t a point where you go, “Here I am, this is the best you’ll ever see, this is the best I will ever get.”  Hogwash.  Even the dancers we look up to the most practice every day, drill every day, get frustrated every day, and grow every day.

Will you take up this challenge?

Don’t forget to find me on Facebook or on my Facebook page, Twitter, or Tumblr.  You won’t want to miss a minute of my Vegas trip!

Happy dancing!

Tags: , , , ,

About Kamrah

Kamrah is a belly dancer in Chicago, IL. They started belly dance as an exercise routine but it turned into a passion for dance that has not lessened, even after more than a decade. They have a powerful presence on the stage, and is particularly known for their amazing shimmies. Kamrah is also known as a very versatile belly dancer, and audiences have come to expect the unexpected from them. Performances can be anything from traditional Egyptian, to tribal fusion, to fantasy cosplay (costume play) pieces.

3 responses to “A Challenge of Challenges”

  1. alicamckennajohnson says :

    I don;t dance as much as I want to, and for me it is a hobby. However I am an author- a newbie but still it is my passion and this post has inspired me to get back into my seat and do the hard work, through the tears, and the lack of sales, and the bad and good reviews, and to push myself to be better every day. Thank you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Spare Brides, Awesomeness, and Updates « Alica McKenna Johnson - September 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

